House Three Sheets

upstarts of the East Kingdom

SCA Newbie Primer

SCA Newb Primer – Printable Google Doc

The SCA is a worldwide organisation with over 30,000 registered members, dedicated to researching and recreating the arts and skills of the pre-17th century world . The Known World is divided into 19 kingdoms by geography. We are in the East Kingdom.

[The map that was formerly in this spot was created by M. McPartland, who has asked that it be removed]

The Known World is divided into Kingdoms and Principalities. The former are ruled by a king and queen, the latter by a prince and princess, selected through armed combat at Crown Tourney twice a year. A monarch’s reign is 6 months, with summer and a winter rulers each year.

Kingdoms and principalities are divided by numbers of active members into baronies, shires, and cantons. We are in the Barony of Carolingia. Barons and Baronesses are selected democratically through voting by the populace. Baronies, shires and cantons are determined by postcode. Our current excellencies are Fergus MacRae and Imigla Venture (“V”).

East Kingdom Baronial Map

Within each barony, friends or people with common interests often form households, like ours. Households can simply be groups of friends who enjoy each others company, or the household can focus on a particular activity, like cooking, service, or fighting. Some fighting households, in particular, become very large and may become mercenary households. See some of the more well known fighter households below.
Bloodguard                  Darkyard                     ICOD                        VDK                   Lochleven

The Northern Army is a group of households in the northern part of the East Kingdom that fight as a unit at war. We train and fight with the First Division. While we swear fealty to both our barony and our kingdom, we have a special respect and camaraderie with the other households and fighters in the Northern Army.

Rank, Heraldry, and Sumptuary Law

As there is heraldry for kingdoms, baronies, households, and individuals, so is there for certain achievements. These achievements or social statuses are noted by a number of different things, generally worn about the person.


 Current King and Queen

  • gold crown (usually, not always)
  • “Your Majesty”
   Current Prince and Princess

  • silver crown
  • “Your Highness”
   Duke and Duchess

  • coronet with strawberry leaves
  • has ruled for more than one reign
  • “Your Grace”
   Count and Countess

  • embattled coronet
  • has reigned as monarch
  • “Your Excellency”
   Viscount and Viscountess

  • embattled coronet
  • has reigned as Prince or Princess of a Principality
   Baron and Baroness

  • coronet with six pearls (any spherical jewel)
  • “Your Excellency”


   Knighthoods are awarded by the Crown, and are decided upon through a vote of all the Chivalry. Only a knight can make a knight. Only knights may wear a white belt, gold chain, and gold spurs. Knights should be addressed as “Sir” or “Dame”.
   Squires are the dependents of knights, and are chosen by the knights themselves. Squires receive martial and chivalric instruction from their knight. They can be identified by their red belts and squire chains.
   Men at arms may be taken by a knight or squire, who then gives martial and chivalric instruction to his man. Although not popular in the East Kingdom, men at arms can be identified by their blue belt.


   The Order of the Pelican is the highest award given for service to the Society. It’s symbol is a pelican in its piety. Individuals who receive this award should be referred to as “Master” or “Mistress.” They can be identified by a pin, medallion, or other item depicting the pelican.
   Proteges are dependents of Pelicans. It is the Pelican’s responsibility to train their protege in continued service to the Society. A protege can be identified by their yellow belt.
    The Order of the Laurel is the highest level of recognition for Arts and Sciences a member can receive. Its symbol is a laurel, which recipients wear on pins, medallions, or other items. Recipients of the award should be addressed as “Master” or “Mistress.”
   Apprentices are the dependents of Laurels. A Laurel may choose an apprentice and assist them in the arts & sciences pursuits. A laurel need not be proficient in the same art or science that their apprentice is pursuing. Apprentices can be identified by their green belts.
Prepared by Meabh of Hawkridge for House Three Sheets in A.S. 47

9 comments on “SCA Newbie Primer

  1. Nakorn Srisomwongs
    December 28, 2013

    Thank you for your beautiful work. Allow me to translate these to our Thai locals. We are from Canton of Golden Playne (Bangkok, Thailand)

  2. Jennifer A Jensen Williams
    December 29, 2013

    Your map is truly beautiful! The one thing I noticed is that the blue of Hawaii on the map makes it appear to belong to The West when in fact it belongs to Caid.

  3. Andrew Lowry (Baron Richard Larmer)
    December 30, 2013

    Nicely done. I like the summary of SCA geography and the Rank, Heraldry, and Sumptuary Law sections. The maps makes Ealdormere too big alas. The area closest to Detroit is part of the Midrealm and the far western part is part of Northshield.

  4. Robin Kinney
    December 30, 2013

    The Panhandle of Nebraska has been a part of the Outlands for at least 20 years. We petitioned the Board of Directors to have the borders redrawn because of the Shire of Hinterland’s close proximity to two baronies and several shires in the Outlands, when the closest group in Calontir was 6 hours away. 🙂

  5. Grimmund
    January 1, 2014

    Pretty map! Hey, wait. Upper Michigan is part of Northshield, not Midrealm.

  6. Cary Lenehan
    January 1, 2014

    Lochac is the spelling btw – but thanks for this – nice map to show our newbies.

    Master Hrolf Herjolfssen, Baron Ynys Fawr, Admiral of the Southern Oceans.

  7. Margaret FitzWilliam of Kent
    January 2, 2014

    The map is not correct–the UP of Michigan belongs to Northshield, not the Midrealm, and also there is a snippet of Ontario that also belongs to Northshield.

  8. Constable of Bhakail
    May 19, 2018

    Do you have a larger version of the Northern Army Star or know where I can find one?

    • Needs Mead
      September 10, 2018

      I don’t! Sorry- I’d love to have one too!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: